The Philippines has temporarily banned entry to foreign seafarers from 21 countries in its efforts to stop the spread of new strains of coronavirus.

Seafarers will be restricted from entering the Philippines until 15 January, according to a posting on the Philippines Port Authority’s official Facebook account.

Banned countries include the major shipping industry nations of Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, the UK and the US.