The Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore (MPA) has said crew changes will not be allowed for seafarers who have recently travelled to Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The ban, which went into effect on 2 May, includes sign-on crew travelling to Singapore by aeroplane, as well as sign-off crew from vessels that have called at the four South Asian countries.